What you can and can’t do in California with recreational marijuana
Hey, Californians! Now that California is finally selling recreational marijuana, you might be thinking “Great, now I can get rid of this card.” But if you’re also thinking “Great, I can’t wait to get stoned and drive to work,” you may need a refresher course on what’s legal and what’s not. California’s Proposition 64 allows for recreational use for marijuana, but also imposes a few rules to keep everyone safe when out and about.
What You Can Do
Buy Weed, No Card Required
As of January 1 2018, you no longer need a medical marijuana card to get yourself some pot. As long as you’re 21 and over, you’re able to purchase up to one ounce of marijuana, or eight grams of concentrated cannabis. If you are a medical marijuana patient, you’ll be exempt from the retail sales tax on medical cannabis if you possess a Medical Marijuana Identification Card issued by the California Department of Public Health.
Grow a Few Plants
You can grow your own marijuana plants, up to six at a time. Since you’re growing it yourself, you get to harvest and keep whatever your plants produce, though it must be in a locked container, out of view from the public. That plant can only be grown indoors, or inside an enclosed structure.
What you Can’t Do
You Still Can’t Smoke in Public
Smoking marijuana in public is still illegal, and brings with it a $100 fine. You’re also prohibited from consuming marijuana near schools and daycare centers, and can’t have any marijuana when on school grounds. Of course, anyone under 21 is prohibited from possessing marijuana of any amount.
No Smoking and Driving, Either
You can have marijuana in your car, though driving while under the influence of marijuana is illegal, just like driving under the influence of alcohol. Also, that marijuana must be in a sealed container. If that seal is broken, you’ll have to put your pot in the trunk of your car.
Don’t Buy Too Much Weed
You’re only allowed to purchase up to one ounce of marijuana. Any more and you’re committing a misdemeanor punishable by a $500 fine or a few months in jail. If you’re growing marijuana, you can keep as much as your plants harvest.
Written and Published By Psy-23 In Weed World Magazine Issue 135